top of page

Mindfulability

Image by Juan Pablo Mascanfroni

When we consciously see the beauty of nature around us, are grateful for what we have instead of paying attention to what our neighbor might have more, it is so much easier to love this world and want to protect it and avoid the more and more trap.

Therefore, mindfulness training can also be a building block for climate protection, which can also make us happier :). Because researchers have shown that - as opposed to more possessions, which trigger short-term feelings of happiness - appreciation of the positive sides of one's life, spending time with loved ones, new uses of one's strengths and practiced optimism increases our happiness not only in the short term but also in the long term increase *. Many of these points can be practiced with mindfulness training - because studies have shown that too: "Practice makes perfect" applies here too :).

Therefore, we want to present a few simple examples that can be easily integrated into everyday life:

 

  1. Smartphone detox: Choose a specific time of the day when you switch off your smartphone for 1 hour, for example (e.g. before going to bed, which improves sleep significantly, which in turn leads to a more balanced mood the next day). You can use this time particularly well for point 2. Increase the time as you like.

  2. me time: Make a conscious decision to take time for yourself once a day - the length of time can vary greatly depending on the family situation, but the length is not the primary factor. Whether you go jogging alone or consciously spend time with good friends or family - that is up to you. The main thing is that you consciously enjoy it and do what is good for you.

  3. consciously perceive: whether it's on a walk or in normal everyday life - smell, taste, feel, look at and listen to your environment very consciously. Enjoy the moment. Even small moments can help us to replenish empty stores. These can be very different situations - going out into the fresh air and consciously looking at, smelling and hearing nature, consciously tasting and smelling something delicious instead of wolfing it down hectically, consciously spending time with a person you like,... .

  4. gratitude training: try to focus on what is going well in life and be thankful for it. We often cannot change what life does to us - but we have our view of this life in our own hands. Happiness research has also shown that inner attitude is often more important than external circumstances. One can be happy in bad circumstances and unhappy in the best of circumstances. Especially with regard to climate change, the flood of negative information can be depressing. Focusing on that slows us down. If, on the other hand, we concentrate on the steps that we are successfully taking, we have reason to be happy and can achieve an amazing amount together :).

  5. Weekly review:eg do a weekly review once a week. What makes you particularly happy right now? How can you increase these moments in your everyday life? What is bothering you or not going well? Can you think of a solution to make these moments less? A daily review is also an option. Even on bad days, try to find at least one positive point. Even negative points often contain hidden positive side effects if we look closely.

  6. digital detox: Take a digital break for a day/week during the holidays, for example - no television, no internet, ...

  7. declutter: this can also be part of mindfulness training - see alsohere

  8. meditation: it can help to strengthen the ability to feel positive feelings* - meditation and mindfulness apps can also help to integrate them into everyday life.

  9. Volunteer engagement: Feeling meaning in one's own life is an important building block of personal happiness - being there for others and working with others to protect the climate is also good for us at the same time :).

  10. Sustainable Consumption: Theluck atlas2020has shown: "70 percent of Germans have a good feeling about shopping sustainably. In addition, sustainable shoppers are demonstrably happier with their lives."

 

*Source:GLÜCK - the world book of happiness - ed. Leo Bormans, dumont-Verlag

 

Tip for families: the book is a very nice book about mindfulness for children"happy - the book about the happiness of the moment"

bottom of page

Achtsamkeit

Image by Juan Pablo Mascanfroni

Wenn wir die Schönheit der Natur um uns herum bewusst sehen, dankbar sind für das, was wir haben, statt auf das zu achten, was unser Nachbar vielleicht mehr hat, ist es so viel leichter, diese Welt zu lieben und damit auch schützen zu wollen und der Immer-mehr-Falle zu entgehen.

Daher kann auch Achtsamkeits-Training ein Baustein zum Klimaschutz sein, der uns ganz nebenbei auch glücklicher machen kann :). Denn Forscher haben belegt, dass - im Gegensatz zu mehr Besitztümern, die kurzfristige Glücksgefühle auslösen - Wertschätzung der positiven Seiten des eigenen Lebens, Zeit mit geliebten Menschen, neue Anwendungen für die eigenen Stärken und praktizierter Optimismus unser Glück nicht nur kurz-, sondern auch langfristig steigern *. Viele dieser Punkte können mit einem Achtsamkeitstraining geübt werden - denn auch das haben Studien gezeigt: auch hier gilt "Übung macht den Meister" :).

Daher wollen wir hier ein paar einfache Beispiele vorstellen, die sich leicht in den Alltag integrieren lassen:

 

  1. Smartphone Detox: Wähle eine bestimmte Zeit am Tag, zu der Du Dein Smartphone z.B. 1 Stunde lang ausschaltest (etwa vor dem Schlafengehen, was den Schlaf wesentlich verbessert, was wiederum zu einer ausgeglichenen Grundstimmung am nächsten Tag führt). Diese Zeit kannst Du besonders gut für Punkt 2 nutzen. Steigere die Zeit nach Belieben.

  2. Me Time: Nimm Dir ganz bewusst einmal am Tag Zeit für Dich - je nach Familiensituation kann die Dauer sehr unterschiedlich sein, doch auf die Länge kommt es nicht in erster Linie an. Ob Du alleine joggen gehst, oder bewusst Zeit mit guten Freunden oder der Familie verbringst - das liegt bei Dir. Hauptsache, Du genießt sie bewusst und tust, was Dir gut tut.

  3. Bewusst wahrnehmen: ob es beim Spaziergang oder auch im ganz normalen Alltag ist - rieche, schmecke, fühle, betrachte und lausche Deine(r) Umwelt ganz bewusst. Genieße den Moment. Schon kleine Momente können uns helfen, leere Speicher wieder aufzufüllen. Das können ganz unterschiedliche Situationen sein - an die frische Luft gehen und die Natur bewusst betrachten, riechen und hören, bewusst etwas Leckeres schmecken und riechen, statt es hektisch hinunterzuschlingen, bewusst die Zeit mit einem Menschen verbringen, den man gern mag,... .

  4. Dankbarkeitstraining: versuche, Dich auf das im Leben zu konzentrieren, was gut läuft, und dankbar dafür zu sein. Wir können oft nicht ändern, was das Leben mit uns macht - aber unsere Sicht auf dieses Leben haben wir selbst in der Hand. Auch die Glücksforschung hat gezeigt, dass die innere Haltung oft wichtiger ist als die äußeren Umstände. Man kann trotz schlechter Umstände glücklich und trotz bester Umstände unglücklich sein. Gerade in Bezug auf den Klimawandel kann die Flut an Negativ-Informationen deprimierend wirken. Sich darauf zu konzentrieren, bremst uns aus. Konzentrieren wir uns hingegen auf die Schritte, die wir erfolgreich gehen, haben wir Grund zur Freude und können gemeinsam erstaunlich viel erreichen :).

  5. Wochenrückblick: mache z.B. einmal die Woche einen Wochenrückblick. Was macht Dich gerade besonders glücklich? Wie kannst Du diese Momente in Deinem Alltag mehren? Was belastet Dich oder läuft nicht gut? Fällt Dir eine Lösung ein, diese Momente weniger werden zu lassen? Auch ein Tagesrückblick ist eine Möglichkeit. Versuche, selbst an schlechten Tagen auch wenigsten einen positiven Punkt zu finden. Selbst negative Punkte enthalten oft genug versteckt positive Begleiterscheinungen, wenn wir genau hinschauen.

  6. Digital Detox: Mache beispielsweise in den Ferien einen Tag/ eine Woche eine digitale Pause - kein Fernsehen, kein Internet, ...

  7. Entrümpeln: auch das kann ein Teil eines Achtsamkeitstrainings sein - siehe auch hier

  8. Meditation: sie kann dabei helfen, die Fähigkeit, positive Gefühle zu empfinden, stärken* - hierbei können auch Meditations- und Achtsamkeitsapps helfen, sie in den Alltag zu integrieren.

  9. Ehrenamtliches Engagement: Auch Sinn im eigenen Leben zu spüren, ist ein wichtiger Baustein des persönlichen Glücks - für andere da sein und sich mit anderen für den Klimaschutz einsetzen tut also auch zugleich uns selbst gut :).

  10. Nachhaltiger Konsum: Der Glücksatlas 2020 hat gezeigt: "70 Prozent der Deutschen gibt es ein gutes Gefühl, nachhaltig einzukaufen. Zudem sind nachhaltige Shopper nachweislich glücklicher mit ihrem Leben."

 

*Quelle: GLÜCK - the world book of happiness - Hg. Leo Bormans, dumont-Verlag

 

Tipp für Familien: ein sehr schönes Buch über Achtsamkeit für Kinder ist das Buch "happy - das Buch vom Glück des Moments"

To play, press and hold the enter key. To stop, release the enter key.